A Sweater for Baby

During both of my pregnancies, I was convinced I was going to make all kind of stuff for my babies.  I was going to knit, sew, and craft until my fingers were raw.  Then the reality of life set in and I didn’t do nearly as much as I dreamed I would.

When I got pregnant with Moxie, Gene was at an age where he would happily play on the floor while I would knit things for the baby.  I managed to make a pair of booties and an afghan with a week to go before my due date.  There was no sign that my baby would ever vacate my womb, so I decided to start another project.

I’m not sure if it was the crazy pregnancy hormones or the sleep deprivation I was already experiencing, but I decided I wanted to knit a sweater for the baby.  I hopped on Ravelry to check out my options.  Considering I had never made anything more complicated than a scarf, I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into.  I finally settled on the In Threes Baby Cardigan pattern from Kelly Without a Net.

Knitting the cardigan was like a race against the clock.  Would I finish it before the arrival of my new baby girl?  Would it sit in my knitting basket, forever unfinished?

The answer to both was ‘no.’

sweater2

 

Moxie arrived on August 16th, a whopping 5 days after her due date.  I almost managed to finish her sweater before her birth.  As for the sweater, I was a mere 10 rows from being finished when I went to the hospital.

Ten. Rows.

After I was discharged from the hospital, working on her sweater was the last thing I wanted to do.  I was adjusting to life with a newborn and a toddler who wasn’t quite two years old.  Add in a dash of sleep deprivation and I was saying, “What’s knitting?”

sweater1

 

I finally finished the sweater at the end of September when Moxie was 6 weeks old.  It was way too big for my new munchkin, so it would be another 6 months before I finally added the buttons.

I am so glad I chose this pattern.  I added several new skills to my bag of knitting tricks and completed a project that, at times, managed to overwhelm me.  I plan to make it again in a variety of colors and sizes for her.  I love knowing she is wearing something that I poured love into!

 

My Merry Messy Life || Pig & Dac || Ginger Snap Crafts || The Mandatory Mooch || House of Rose || Seven Thirty Three || Kitchen Meets Girl || Mostly Homemade Mom || Daisy Cottage Designs

4 thoughts on “A Sweater for Baby

  1. Your story is quite funny and having two sons I can relate to it. The sweater you finally finished is beautiful and it would have been a shame to let the baby grow without having the opportunity to wear it. She looks quite adorable in it. And happy too!
    I really loved reading your post.

Tell me what you think! I reply to as many comments as I can.

