Easter Basket Upgrade

Here comes Peter Cottontail….

Easter season is here!  I don’t know about you, but I love Easter.  I love the warm, sunshiny days, the candy, and, of course, Jesus.

This year I have been a busy little bunny, working on various Easter-themed projects for the kids.  I have all kinds of goodies to share with you, though I only have one ready today.

This is Moxie’s first Easter, so I knew she was going to need an Easter basket.  Since I didn’t manage to find a Leprechaun and his pot o’ gold last month, I can’t splurge on one of the adorable Easter baskets from Pottery Barn Kids.  I couldn’t find anything I liked elsewhere, so I decided to DIY my own.

I started with a plain Easter basket from Target.  It was originally $10 and I used the 15% off coupon from the Cartwheel app (do you have this? No? Get it.)  I headed over to JoAnn Fabrics and bought a half-yard of this great coral fabric for $2.50.  I was ready to go!

Okay, not quite.

Making liners for square baskets is a breeze.  Round ones?  Not so much.  Remember how you told your 9th grade geometry teacher (Hey, Mrs. Lawson!) that you would never ever use anything she taught ever again?  You were wrong.  Figuring out the fabric measurements for this basket took some tricky math.  I may have been a mathlete in high school, but I had to look up the equation for figuring the circumference of a circle.

Once I had my fabric cut, the rest was fairly straight-forward.  Sewing the circle piece in the bottom was a bit tricky, but it wasn’t anything I couldn’t handle.

easterbasket

 

I think it turned out really cute!  I was going to make it super fancy and embroider her name on the side, but I didn’t make it hang over quite far enough.  Oops.  The great thing about it is that if I decide in a few years I’m bored with the polka dots, I can easily make a new one.  Or make one to match her Easter dress, because that’s what moms do, right?

 

Pig & Dac || Ginger Snap Crafts || House of Rose || Seven Thirty Three || Kitchen Meets Girl || Mostly Homemade Mom

One thought on “Easter Basket Upgrade

Tell me what you think! I reply to as many comments as I can.

