Abundantly Blessed Quilt

Back in the fall of 2005, I was a sophomore in college.  I was going on a hay ride on a chilly October night.  Digging through the trunk of my car, I found a quilt and took it with me to keep warm.  I would later learn that the quilt was made by my great-grandmother for my grandparents early in their marriage.

I loved the idea of keeping warm with something that was handmade by a loved one.  I decided that I wanted to bestow that same feeling on those that I love.  My first quilt wasn’t the prettiest thing, but as I type this my husband is lounging on the sofa under it.

While I have only made a few quilts over the last 8.5 years, I have learned so much with each one.  Last winter I fell in love with a quilt pattern and knew immediately that I wanted to make it for Moxie.  It is the Abundantly Blessed pattern from Cotton Way.  The fabric I used was the April Showers line from Moda.  I made my quilt a little larger than the pattern called for, so hopefully Moxie can use it for several years.

abundantlyblessedquilt

 

I am so happy with how this quilt turned out!  The white petals are appliquéd on to the quilt with an exposed raw edge.  When washed, those raw edges frayed.  It is so soft and snuggly.  I love the colors from this fabric line.

rawedgeappliquequilt

 

This pattern stitched up quickly and easily.  I can definitely see making more of these!

This project is one of my 2014 Sewing & Craft goals!

Ginger Snap Crafts || Hope in Every Season || Pig & Dac || Seven Thirty-Three || We Like to Learn as We Go || Freshly Pieced || Mostly Homemade Mom || Kitchen Meets Girl || 36th Avenue || House of Rose || VMG206 || Crazy Mom Quilts || Flamingo Toes || Thrifty Nifty Things || Mrs. AOK || Flour Me With Love || Clairejustine

5 thoughts on “Abundantly Blessed Quilt

  1. Pingback: 2014 Sewing & Craft Goals | Cheerful Homemaker

  2. Pingback: Abundantly Blessed — Take 2! | Cheerful Homemaker

  3. Pingback: 2014 Sewing & Craft Goals Review | Cheerful Homemaker

Tell me what you think! I reply to as many comments as I can.

