Tutorial — Paper Garland

papergarland1

 

Have you ever noticed that the color scheme for summer is red, white, and blue?  Even though July 4th is only one day, the colors seem to dominate from Memorial Day until Labor Day.

That’s totally fine with me.  The colors look great together, not to mention it means not having to switch out my seasonal decor too often.  I don’t currently have a lot of summer-appropriate decorations, so I thought I would make some paper garland to string up around the house.  It was a quick and inexpensive project that you can easily make at home in less than 30 minutes.

Supplies:

  • Card stock (I found individual 12×12 sheets in the scrapbook section of my local craft store for $0.69 each)
  • Scissors
  • Ruler
  • 2″ circle punch (optional)
  • Sewing machine

DSC05512

 

Cut your card stock into strips.  If you’re using a 2″ circle punch, cut your paper into 2.25″ strips.

If you are using scissors instead of a punch, you can skip this step.  Simply trace something round all over your paper.

DSC05514

 

Use your circle punch to cut out circles in all of your strips.  With a 2″ punch on 12″ paper, I was able to get 5 circles from each strip.

DSC05515

Using your sewing machine, stitch a straight line across the middle of each circle.  When you reach the end, place a new circle under your presser foot and continue sewing, making one continuous chain.

DSC05518

Trim to desired length, hang up, and enjoy!

Ginger Snap Crafts || Hope in Every Season || Pig & Dac || Seven Thirty-Three || We Like to Learn as We Go || Mostly Homemade Mom || Kitchen Meets Girl || 36th Avenue || House of Rose || VMG206 || Flamingo Toes || Thrifty Nifty Things || Mrs. AOK || Flour Me With Love || Clairejustine

5 thoughts on “Tutorial — Paper Garland

    • I saw shiny and glittery card stock when I was shopping for this project. They are white on the back side, though. If you aren’t going to have the garland hanging on a flat surface, I would recommend using two circles with the backs together. That way if the circle turns, you’ll see the design on both sides.

  1. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and
    checking back frequently!

Tell me what you think! I reply to as many comments as I can.

