Quick & Easy 4th of July Shirt

Back in April during my shirt-making bender, I made this shirt for Moxie to wear for the 4th of July.  I mentioned I was going to make a matching shirt for Gene because they are too young to whine about it.  Life got in the way and that shirt never came to be.  Future Gene is thanking his lucky stars he doesn’t have to be dressed like his baby sister.

Not making his shirt left me with a problem.  Not only did Gene not have a shirt to match Moxie’s, but he didn’t have a patriotic shirt to wear for the 4th of July at all!  This just Would. Not. Do.

As it usually happens, inspiration smacked me right in the face.  I was reading through the daily Blogher e-mail and saw this post.  I loved the look of the shirt on Jessica’s blog.  I also happened to have everything I needed on hand to make this project happen.  Perfect.

I did deviate from her instructions a little.  I had to improvise where she used freezer paper.  I printed my star on a piece of card stock and attached it to the shirt with quilt basting spray.

4th_of_July_Shirt

I kind of felt like MacGyver making this shirt using a pencil eraser instead of a brush of some sort.  From start to finish the project only took 10 minutes.  I would have let Gene help, but he was taking a nap.  I am not sure the pencil would have been the best tool for him to use, though.  You could use a foam stencil brush that would better fit in little hands.

I can’t wait to see my little firecracker in his new shirt on Friday!

This project is on my 2014 Sewing & Crafts bucket list!

Pig & Dac | Ginger Snap Crafts | VMG 206 | Daisy Cottage Designs | Clairejustine oxox |

2 thoughts on “Quick & Easy 4th of July Shirt

  1. Pingback: 2014 Sewing & Craft Goals | Cheerful Homemaker

  2. Pingback: 2014 Sewing & Craft Goals Review | Cheerful Homemaker

Tell me what you think! I reply to as many comments as I can.

