Beach Babies

There is a public beach on a lake not too far from where we live.  Before we had kids, Michael and I would spend the weekends floating around and getting some sun.  The next two summers we went to a local swimming pool, either because we didn’t want to take our little baby to the beach or because I was seventy months pregnant.  This June, though, we decided to take a family trip to the beach.

Have you ever gone to the beach with little kids?  It is ridiculous just how much stuff you need to take with you.  Towels, umbrella, cooler, toys… not to mention sunblock, clothes, and, of course, your kids.  I am sure we were quite the sight rolling into the beach.

beach_baby_1

One of my biggest worries was that Moxie would eat all of the sand and that Gene would just go crazy.  Luckily I was wrong on both parts.  Moxie liked touching the sand, but didn’t put too much in her mouth.  Gene went a little crazy, but only because he couldn’t decide if he wanted to play in the sand or water, so he ran back and forth between the two every fifteen seconds.

beach_baby_2

The best part about the beach?  The long naps the kids took when we were done!  I love that!  What I don’t love, though, is the sand.  It gets everywhere.  I mean everywhere.  Thanks to the power of Pinterest, I was prepared.  Baby powder really works, but only if the sand in question is mostly dry.  The sand wiped right off of Moxie because she was dried off when I changed her back into her clothes.  We typically plucked Gene straight out of the water and off to the car (with a stop at the ice cream stand first) when it was time to go, so his sand didn’t have time to dry entirely.  It didn’t work as well then, but it helped.

Family trips to the beach is definitely something we will do again, especially since we spent a small fortune on beach stuff.  The kids had so much fun and, in the end, isn’t that what matters?

2 thoughts on “Beach Babies

Tell me what you think! I reply to as many comments as I can.

