Pow Wow Baby Quilt

My son has been in a twin size bed for about a year now.  Ever since I have been trying to decide which quilt pattern I want to use for his bed.  There are so many great designs out there, so choosing one is impossible!

Earlier this year I decided I wanted to try out the Pow Wow quilt pattern by Cluck Cluck Sew.  I had not yet picked out fabric for Gene’s quilt, but I wanted to try the pattern out anyway.  I used a fat quarter pack I picked up at JoAnn’s last fall, a few fabrics from my stash, and got to work.

This pattern involved a fair amount of cutting.  It’s actually one of my least favorite part about making a quilt.  If there are too many little pieces to cut out, chances are I am not interested in making it.  This one wasn’t horrible, though.  I would cut enough pieces to make a few arrow blocks at a time to break up all of the cutting.

il_fullxfull.775787170_hk3v

I finished the quilt top back in March, but had to put it aside while we moved.  My sewing room was packed up pretty early on and wasn’t high on the priority list where unpacking was concerned, so the quilt stayed packed for quite some time.  I finally pulled it out Tuesday and managed to get it basted after the kids went to bed.  Thanks to rainy weather keeping us indoors, I did ALL of the quilting and binding throughout the day Wednesday.  NOT an easy feat when you have two toddlers!

I love, love, love the way this quilt turned out!  It measures approximately 36″x39″ and is soft, cuddly, and absolutely gorgeous!  Unfortunately, I have no need for a baby quilt.  Today is your lucky day, because this one is for sale!  Head on over to my Etsy shop to check it out!

8 thoughts on “Pow Wow Baby Quilt

  1. I think it looks fantastic! I know what you mean about too much cutting being a killer- I’m part way through cutting 600 odd triangles for my latest quilt and it’s definitely slow going!!

    • I find it helps tremendously to cut a little and then sew what I have ready. I once cut out an entire log cabin quilt at once. By the time I was done I was so sick of it that I didn’t want to sew i!

  2. Hi! I found your blog through Crazy Mom Quilts Finish it Friday. =) What a wonderful finish! The colors really compliment each other! Well, happy Friday ~ Aloha.

  3. So adorable! Love the colors you used . . .and I love the name for the quit too! Thank you for sharing your awesome talent with us at Brag About It! Hope you will come back and share with us again next week!
    ~Laurie

  4. Pingback: Gene’s Quilt Top | Cheerful Homemaker

Tell me what you think! I reply to as many comments as I can.

