Gene’s Coin Stack Quilt Top

Ever since we transitioned Gene into a toddler bed back in the spring of 2014, I’ve had plans to make him a quilt.  I spent a lot of time looking at patterns, but could never settle on anything I liked. At one point I had planned on making him a twin sized Pow Wow quilt.  I tried out the pattern a couple of months ago on a smaller scale.  And while I did love the pattern, I decided not to make one for Gene’s bed.

About a month ago I saw a few coin stack quilts on Pinterest and fell in love.  I sketched out my design, calculated how much fabric I would need, and started browsing for fabric online.  I had a really hard time finding fabric I liked.  I eventually went to JoAnn Fabrics, grabbed 16 random fabrics that fit my color scheme, and headed home.

Cutting the 230 coins I needed for the quilt took quite some time.  I’d cut a few at a time while the kids were playing in the next room.  If I’m being totally honest, there were times during the piecing process when I really questioned my randomly chosen fabrics. I was swimming in a sea of greens and blues and really doubting that it would turn out all right.

G_quilt

But it did.  I stayed up late last night and finally finished the top.  I love all the different shades of blue and green that I chose and I love how they look with the solid gray strips.  I haven’t decided what I’m going to do for the back or quilting yet.  I’m just so happy to have this part finished!  I hope Gene loves it as much as I’ve enjoyed working on it!

Ginger Snap Crafts | VMG206 | Flamingo Toes | Crazy Mom Quilts

4 thoughts on “Gene’s Coin Stack Quilt Top

  1. Oh it looks fantastic and it’s the sort of quilt that will grow with him! I’m looking forward to seeing how you quilt it!

Tell me what you think! I reply to as many comments as I can.

